ExhibitionsProjectsWorld Cartoon News

“Refuse To Stay Silent: Stop Violence against Women Worldwide”

Exhibition of the International Cartoon Contest and Exhibition - NORWAY 2022

30 drawings selected from an open call for professional cartoonists from all over the world will be on display in the windows of the Norwegian Cartoonist Gallery in Drøbak from November 26th, 2022 until early 2023.
The organizing committee received 505 works by 261 cartoonists from 67 different countries, including Cuba, Italy, Japan, Switzerland, the United Kingdom, Ukraine, Poland and Iran. The drawings received were evaluated by a group of 9 judges from different countries (Andrea Arroyo- USA, Byoung-il Sun- South Korea, Fawzy Morsy- Egypt, Hitoshi Miura- Japan, Kristina Quintano- Malta, Monireh Ahmadi- Iran, Safaa Odah- Palestine, Thais Linhares- Brazil, Yemi Yetneberk- Ethiopia) who applied the criteria of creativity, originality, relevance to the theme, layout, and visual impact.

“We were very satisfied with the quantity (505 works) and, above all, with the quality of the works received. Our activity fulfils the objective of showing the power of visual communication for the synthesis, reflection, and criticism of Women’s issues internationally. Last, but not least, we have an opportunity to show the work of 55 selected cartoonists in a catalogue. They all have different views, but together they shine a light on violence against women worldwide. We thank all cartoonists for supporting us and being part of our competition,” says Fadi Abou Hassan, coordinator and organizer of the competition at the Cartoon Home Network International – CHNI.

30 selected works can be seen as an outdoor exhibition 24/7 at the Norwegian National Cartoonist Gallery from 26. November and a selection of 55 selected works will be seen in the catalogue, which will be on sale at the gallery (Donations will be made to the sanitetskvinnene organization in Norway).
Selected cartoonists in (alphabetical order):
– Ahmed Almaliki. Iraq.
– Ali Shafei. Iran.
Anas Lakkis. Lebanon.
Antonio Antunes. Portugal.
Bernard Bouton. France.
Cival Einstein. Brazil.
Damir Novak.Croatia.
– Darko Drljevic. Montenegro.
Dominik Jakubowski. Poland.
Elena Ospina. Colombia.
Elrayah Ombaddi. Sudan.
Fabio Magnasciutti. Italy.
Firuz Kutal. Norway.
Agus Harsanta. Indonesia.
– Heibat Ahmadi. Iran.
Ivailo Tsvetkov. Bulgaria.
Klaus Pitter. Austria.
Kürşat Zaman. Turkiye.
– Li Xiaoyang. China.
Luc Vernimmen. Belgium.
– Marcelo Chamorro. Ecuador.
Marco De Angelis– Italy.
Marilena Nardi. Italy.
– Masoumeh Mosayebkhah. Iran.
Silvano Mello. Brazil.
– Michel Moro. Cuba.
Mirtad Gazazian. Armenia.
Mo Qasem. The Netherlands.
Mumin Bayram. Turkiye.
Muzaffar Yulchiboev. The Republic of Uzbekistan.
Oleg Gutsol. Ukraine.
Osama Hajjaj. Jordan.
Patrick Heymans. Belgium.
Pepe Sanmartin. Peru.
Peter Nieuwendijk. The Netherlands.
Pierre Ballouhey. France.
Ridha H. Ridha. Germany.
– Rosa Cerruto. The Netherlands.
– Serpil Kar. Türkiye.
– shahid Atiqullah. Afghanistan.
– Stefan Haller. Switzerland.
– Vladimír Pavlík.Slovakia.
– Yalda Hasheminezhad. Iran.
Yoshiaki Yokota. Japan.
Yukio Shinohara. Japan.

Related Articles


  1. Very nice post. I just stumbled upon your blog and wanted to say that I’ve really enjoyed browsing your blog posts. In any case I’ll be subscribing to your feed and I hope you write again soon!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button